## **MINUTES**

## WPSA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Action without a Meeting Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Members Present: Julie Novkov, Stephen Nicholson, Jane June, Carrie Currier, Michael W. Bowers, Richard A. Clucas, Michael Genovese, Kim Nalder, Regina Branton, Celeste Montoya, Jennifer Wilking, Jane Junn, Tiffany Howard, Teena Gabrielson, Andrew Aoki, Lorrie Frasure-Yokley, Maruice Mangum, Ricardo Ramirez

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present:</u> Clarissa Hayward (for PRQ editors), Laurel Weldon (for PGI editors), Louis DeSipio, Mark Button

## Members Absent: None

WPSA President Julie Novkov submitted two proposals to the Executive Council through electronic mail on October 18, 2016 following the WPSA Bylaws for taking Action without a Meeting. These are these official minutes of those actions.

## BACKGROUND

The WPSA Executive Council did not have a quorum at its meeting in Philadelphia. There were two different items on the Executive Council agenda that required immediate attention, and thus the Association President moved forward with taking Action without a Meeting. The two issues were:

- 1. Yes or No Vote on adoption of PRQ Advertisement/Job description
- 2. Yes or No Vote on changing the Award for Best Paper on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics

PRQ Advertisement/Job description. The Council needed to approve the advertisement in order to move forward in a timely fashion with a search for new PRQ editors.

Changing the Award for Best Paper on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics. A proposal to change the "Award for Best Paper on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics" was put forward by members of the Committee on the Status of Asian Pacific Americans in the Profession. The proposal asked the Council to consider two changes. One was to change the name of the award to the "Don T. Nakanishi Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Service in Asian Pacific American Politics." The second was to change the criteria for the award. Rather than having the award solely recognize outstanding papers, the proposal called for the award committee to recognize other types of outstanding work as well, including influential books and valuable service.

OUTCOME
All members of the Executive Council returned their ballots, with the final ballot arriving on October 26, 2016. Both proposals passed unanimously.
Submitted by Carrie Currier, Recording Secretary