MINUTES

WPSA ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP BUSINESS MEETING FRIDAY, MARCH 18, 2005 OAKLAND MARRIOT CITY CENTER HOTEL SIMMONS BALLROOMS 2 AND 3

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:25 P.M.

AWARDS

■ DISSERTATION AWARD

President Barbara Norrander presented the award on behalf of the chair of the award committee Pricilla Southwell, University of Oregon, the committee consisting of Paul Apostolidis, Whitman College, and Charles Davis, Colorado State University. The award was presented to Dr. Jeffrey T. Timmons, Instituto Tecnologico Autonomo de Mexico for his Dissertation entitled "The Fiscal Contract: States, Taxes, and Public Services," completed at the University of California, San Diego.

■ PI SIGMA ALPHA AWARD

Jean Schroedel, Claremont Graduate School, presented the award on behalf of the committee chair, Randolph Stevenson, Rice University and committee members including herself and Paul Frymer, University of California, San Diego. The award was given to: Walter Stone, University of California, Davis; Sarah Fulton, University of California, Davis; Sandy Maisel, Colby College, and Cherie Maestas, Texas Tech University for their paper: "Prospects, Money, Candidate Entry, and Vote Share in U.S. House Elections: What's Causing What?"

■ BETTY NESVOLD WOMEN AND POLITICS AWARD

The chair of the award committee Jane Bayes, California State University, Northridge, on behalf of the committee consisting of Renee Heberle, Toledo University and Julia Jordan-Zachary, Howard University, presented the award to Ki-young Shin, University of Washington, for her paper: "Movement without Activism: Japanese Women's Family Law Reform Movement since the 1980s."

■ WPSA BEST PAPER ON BLACKS AND POLITICS

President Barbara Norrander on behalf of the award committee consisting of Chair Regina Freer, Occidental University; David Covin, California State University, Sacramento; and William Nelson, The Ohio State University; presented the award to Professor Mark Q. Sawyer, University of California, Los

Angeles for his paper: "DuBois' Double Consciousness Versus Latin American Exceptionalism: Joe Arroyo, Salsa and Negritude."

■ WPSA BEST PAPER ON LATINO/LATINA POLITICS

Award Committee Chair John Bretting, University of Texas at El Paso, on behalf of the committee consisting of Jessica Perez Monforti, University of Texas, Pan American, and Melissa Michelson, California State University, Hayward, presented the award to Professor Lisa Garcia Bedolla and Becki Scola University of California, Irvine for their paper: "Race, Connectedness and Social Capital in the United States."

■ CHARLES REDD AWARD FOR BEST PAPER ON THE POLITICS OF THE AMERICAN WEST

The chair of the award committee Gary Moncrief, Boise State University on behalf of the committee consisting of Jeanne Clarke, University of Arizona, and Peter Galderisi, Utah State University, presented the award to Professors Joe Bowersox and Karen Arabas, Willamette University for their paper: "People, Fire and Scale: Obstacles to Ecosystem Management."

■ PRQ BEST ARTICLE AWARD

The chair of the award committee Mark Petracca, University of California, Irvine, on behalf of the committee consisting of Suzanna DeBoef, Penn State University, and Michael Martinez, University of Florida presented the award to Natalia Letki, Nuffield College, Oxford for her December 2004 PRQ Article, "Socialization for Participation? Trust, Membership and Democratization in East-Central Europe."

REPORTS

■ 2005 CONVENTION PROGRAM/LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS

Local arrangements chair, Dvora Yanow, of California State University-Hayward, reported that there were 162 panels with approximately 830 registrants. California had the highest percent participation (37%), and there were around 800-900 pre-registrants with participants from as far away as Finland, France, Japan and Norway. She thanked the 25 section chairs for all their hard work in crafting a wonderful program. There were reports of difficulties with All Academic. Ron Schmidt will look into these and get back to the membership.

■ POLITICAL RESEARCH QUARTERLY

Co-editor, Harold Clarke, University of North Texas, delivered the report for the PRQ. He thanked the best paper committee members and all the authors and reviewers for the journal. He reported 208 papers were submitted with 8 accepted outright and 40 given revise and resubmits. Sixty-seven percent of revise and resubmits are eventually accepted so he encouraged the membership to follow

through in getting the revise and resubmits back. Harold thanked Linda Roberts of the University of Utah for the production of the journal. Finally, Harold reminded the membership of the editorship opening.

■ EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Executive Director, Elizabeth Moulds, California State University, Sacramento, reported that individual membership of the WPSA is currently 928 (up 37 from 2004) and institutional membership (library subscriptions to PRQ) is currently 945, a slight decline from 2004.

She announced that next year's conference would be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico and encouraged all to attend. She also announced that in 2007 the conference would be in Las Vegas and the year after that in San Diego. She also reported that a location for 2009 still needed to be determined, but Vancouver, Seattle or Portland are all possibilities contingent upon securing a local arrangements chair.

She encouraged the membership to apply for the PRQ editorship position and informed all that the WPSA website had financial as well as other information regarding the editor position. She also offered to speak with anyone interested and indicated that the co-editors of the journal and the Chair of the search committee, Luis Ricardo Fraga of Stanford University, will also be happy to respond to inquiries.

■ TREASURER

Treasurer, Gil St. Clair, University of New Mexico, reported that the WPSA finances were in good shape. As of the close of the 04-05 Fiscal Year in February, WPSA net assets were \$219,255.65.

■ NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Nominating Chair, Victoria Farrar-Myers, from the University of Texas at Arlington thanked the members of the nominating committee which consisted of Diane Dwyer, Co-Chair, California State University, Chico; Barbara Morris, University of Redlands; Richard Foster, Jr., Idaho State University; and Mark Kamm, University of Southern California. She then on behalf of the Nominating Committee offered the following slate for election:

Vice President and Program Chair, 2006-2007

Peter J. Steinberger, Reed College

Executive Council, 2005-2008

Region A

Kristin Hill Maher, San Diego State University John Meyer, Humboldt State University

Region B

Ted Jelen, University of Nevada at Las Vegas

Region C

Richard Clucas, Portland State University

OLD BUSINESS

None considered.

NEW BUSINESS

■ ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President Norrander, from the University of Arizona, called for any nominations from the floor – hearing none – asked for acceptance of the slate offered by the Nominations Committee. The slate was unanimously accepted.

Upon acceptance of the slate, a member asked that the record reflect the memberships thanks to the current officers of the WPSA and editors of the *Political Research Quarterly*.

■ INTRODUCTION OF INCOMING WPSA PRESIDENT RON SCHMIDT, SR.

President Norrander introduced the incoming WPSA President Ron Schmidt, Sr., from the California State University, Long Beach, and turned the gavel over to him officially marking the beginning of his term.

Ron Schmidt offered thanks to Barbara Norrander, Betty Moulds, Elsa Favila, and Dvora Yanow for all of their efforts on behalf of the Association. He urged all in attendance to come to next year's conference in Albuquerque, N.M. and introduced next year's program chair, Valeria Martinez-Ebers from the Texas Christian University. Finally, he invited all in attendance to the WPSA reception on the 21st floor.

MEETING ADJOURNED AT 6:04 P.M.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

VICTORIA A. FARRAR-MYERS