Western Political Science Association Business Meeting March 26, 1999 Seattle Madison Renaissance Hotel

MINUTES

Call to Order: President Lyn Ragsdale called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Awards:

<u>Dissertation Award</u>. Standing in for Ted Jelen, Lyn Ragsdale announced that the Association's Dissertation Award went to Micah Altman, Harvard University, for his dissertation entitled: "Districting Principles and Democratic Representation." The work was completed at California Institute of Technology.

<u>Pi Sigma Alpha Award</u> (for the best paper presented at the 1998 meeting). Louis Hayes announced the winner: Pierre Englebert, Pomona College, for his paper: "Institutional Congruence, State Capacity and Economic Growth in Tropical Africa: Theory and Empirical Evidence."

<u>Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award</u>. Valerie O'Regan announced the winner to be Sue Davis, University of Delaware, for her paper: "The Multiple Traditions in Elizabeth Cady Stanton's Political Thought."

<u>WPSA Best Paper on Chicana/Chicano Politics</u>. Sonia Garcia and Lisa Montoya announced the winners to be F. Chris Garcia, University of New Mexico and Carole J. Uhlaner, University of California, Irvine, for their paper "Foundations of Latino Political Party Identification: Ethnicity and other Demographic Foundations Among Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Cubans and Anglos in the United States."

<u>WPSA Best Paper on Blacks and Politics</u>. Nicholas Alozie announced the winner: Carole Conaway, College of Holy Cross, for her paper: "Crown Heights: Coverage of the Race War That Wasn't".

<u>Charles Redd Award for Best Paper on the Politics of the American West.</u> Gary Bryner announced the winner: Brian Ellison, Southwest Missouri State University, for his paper "Intergovernmental Relations and the Advocacy Coalition Framework: The Operation of Federalism in Denver Water Politics."

Reports:

<u>Seattle Convention Program</u>. Program Chair Rodney Hero characterized the 1999 meeting as eclectic, energetic and exciting. There have been 600 plus registered participants across 20 sections. He expressed thanks to Bill Haltom and Mike McCann for their work with respect to local arrangements.

<u>Political Research Quarterly</u>. Bill Dixon updated the Association on certain aspects of <u>PRQ</u>'s operations. In 1998 decisions were made on 220 manuscripts. <u>PRQ</u> has a 16% acceptance rate. The editors would like to see more comparative and international manuscripts. Currently, roughly 60% of the manuscripts received are in American politics. Dixon also alerted the association to the forthcoming search for a new editor.

Reports of the Executive Director. Executive Director Elizabeth F. Moulds offered reports on finance and membership. Briefly, the Association's net assets rose sharply across 1998 due largely to increased dues and slightly increased membership.

Elizabeth also introduced and introduced and thanked Elsa Favila for her assistance to the office of Executive Director. Finally, she announced the place and time of the 2000 meeting: San Jose, March 24-26 (Friday through Sunday rather than Thursday through Saturday).

<u>Nominating Committee</u>. David Olson presented the report of the nominating committee as follows:

Vice President (1999-2000) and President-elect (2000-2001): Ann N. Crigler, University of Southern California.

Recording Secretary: Janie Steckenrider, Loyola Marymount University. Treasurer: Gil St. Clair, The College of Santa Fe at Albuquerque. Executive Council:

Region A (California): Diana Dwyre, Chico State University (1999-2002). Michael Haas, (shifting from his current slot in Region C--1999-2002).

Region B (Southwest): Barbara Norrander, University of Arizona (1999-2002).

Region C (Northwest): Michael McCann, University of Washington (1999-2002) and Stephanie Witt, Boise State University (1999-2001) to fill the remaining two years of the vacancy created by Michael Haas' shift to Region A.

New Business:

<u>Election of Officers</u>. President Lyn Ragsdale asked for a motion to accept the Nominating Committee's report and thus elect its suggested slate of officers. For reasons which he did not explicate, Michael Haas stated his preference for retaining the remaining two years of his Region C position rather than shifting to a new, three-year term in Region A. This effectively cancelled the nomination of Stephanie Witt for Region C. Lyn asked for nominations from the floor for the now-vacant Executive Council position in Region A. Michelle Saint-Germain, California State University, Long Beach was nominated. She was not present but

was represented by others as willing and able to serve. The acceptance of this revised slate of officers was then moved, seconded and carried.

<u>Resolution Honoring Betty Dalgliesh</u>. Lyn Ragsdale read a resolution honoring Betty Dalgliesh (age 95) who is retiring from 51 years of service as copy-editor for the <u>WPQ-PRQ</u>. The Reverend Dalgliesh is the only copy editor the journal has had. Lyn announced that, in consultation with Susan Olson (University of Utah), the Association's officers will as well choose an appropriate gift for Betty Dalgliesh.

Introduction of Incoming President: Current president, Lyn Ragsdale, introduced the incoming president, Rodney Hero.

Adjournment: Lyn Ragsdale adjourned the meeting at 7:43 p.m.