# MINUTES WPSA ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP BUSINESS MEETING FRIDAY, APRIL 22, 2011 6:15 – 6:45 P.M.

Hyatt Regency San Antonio ROOM: Rio Grande East, Ballroom Level

#### 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Christine DiStefano at 6:25 p.m.

### 2. Awards

- a. The Dissertation Award was presented by Cricket Keating to Brian Greenhill for his dissertation: "Norm Transmission in Networks of Intergovernmental Organizations," completed at the University of Washington.
- b. The Pi Sigma Alpha Award was presented by Kathy Ferguson to Jessica Lavariega Monforti, University of Texas Pan American, and Renee Ann Cramer, Drake University, for their paper: "Guarding Our Borders with Gardasil: Immigrant Women and Physical Autonomy."
- c. The Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award was presented by Richard Clucas to Sarah Pemberton, University of British Columbia, for her paper: "Enforcing Gender: the Constitution of Masculinity and Femininity in Prison Regimes."
- d. The WPSA Best Paper on Blacks and Politics Award was presented by Christopher Towler to Michelle Smith, University of Florida, for her paper: "To Certain of Our Philistines:' Alain Locke and the Politics of Expression."
- e. The WPSA Best Paper on Latina/Latino & Politics Award was presented by Jason Casellas to Marcela García-Castañon, University of Washington, for her paper: "Family (and School) Matters: The Effect of Schools and Family on the Political Socialization of Latinos."
- f. The Charles Redd Award for Best Paper on the Politics of the American West was presented by Ted Jelen to Garrett Glasgow, University of California Santa Barbara, Paul G. Lewis, Arizona State University, and Max Neiman, University of California, Berkeley, for their paper: "Local Development Politics and the Foreclosure Crisis in California: Can Local Growth Policies Hold Back Global Tides?"
- g. The *PRQ* Best Article Award was presented by Richard Clucas to Gail McElroy, Trinity College Dublin, and Michael Marsh, Trinity College Dublin, for their December 2010 *PRQ* Article: "Candidate Gender and Voter Choice: Analysis from a Multimember Preferential Voting System."

h. The WPSA Best Paper on Environmental Political Theory was presented by Sherry Breen to Tina Gabrielson, University of Wyoming, for her paper: "Reconceptualizing Autonomy and Agency Through an Ontological Approach to Green Citizenship."

# 3. Reports

#### a. San Antonio Conference

Program Chair Manny Avalos reported that there were 921 preregistered participants and 45 additional participants who registered on-site. He noted that this is one of our best attended conferences. There were also approximately 240 panels. Avalos also commented that the Pi Sigma Alpha Speech by mayor was wonderful.

Local Arrangements Chair Sonia Garcia gave a report on local arrangements in San Antonio. She thanked the other members of the committee (Celine Jacquemin/Arturo Vega). She suggested that the temperature really isn't that hot in San Antonio and encouraged the association to come back again.

## b. Political Research Quarterly

Amy Mazur noted that she and Cornell Clayton are going into their 5<sup>th</sup> of 8 years as editors. She noted that there is a formal annual report regarding the *PRQ* available and then gave highlights from the report: there has been an increase in the impact factor by 88%; *PRQ* is now 36 out of 112 in impact ratings. She explained that Sage gives the journal fantastic support and that there is now a 30-page increase in journal size. She emphasized that there is more diversification in the journal and that 2010 was a banner year with 3 mini-symposia. She pointed that we have become more international and that the winners of the *PRQ* award this year were Irish nationals.

#### c. Executive Director

Richard Clucas noted that our finances continue to be strong and we have a \$13,000 increase in our reserves – which is great given the state of the economy. He said that convention planning is moving forward: Portland – 2012, March 22-24; Hollywood – 2013, March 28-30; Seattle – 2014, April 17-19; Las Vegas – 2015, April 2-4; San Diego - 2016, March 24-26. He thanked Amy Mazur and Cornell Clayton for all their work on *PRQ*. He noted the launching of the new WPSA journal, *Politics Groups and Identities*, and the WPSA newsletter, *The Western*. He also mentioned that the association has a new website. Clucas then invited all to attend the WPSA Reception.

#### d. Treasurer

Michael Bowers referred all to the financial report. He noted that the net income was very high from San Francisco. We have net assets of \$293,890. Our assests are going up incrementally.

# e. Nominating Committee

Anna Sampaio, chair of the committee noted that Jane Bayes and Peter Steinberger were committee members. She said that they tried to find a slate of candidates that provided a

mix of race, gender, and areas of expertise. The nominating committee put forward the following names:

Vice President and Program Chair: March 23, 2012 – March 29, 2013

Gary Segura, Stanford University

Executive Council: March 1, 2012 – February 28, 2015

Region A Mary Caputi, California State University, Long Beach

Mark Bevir, University of California, Berkeley

Region B

Gabriel Sanchez, University of New Mexico

Region C

Jeanne Morefield, Whitman College

## 4. Old Business

There was no Old Business.

## 5. New Business

## a. Election of Officers

Christine DiStefano said that a motion was in order for the election of new officers. A motion to approve the slate was moved and seconded. No additional nominations were made from the floor. The motion to approve the nominating committee slate was approved unanimously.

## 6. Introduction of Incoming WPSA President Manuel Avalos

Chritine DiStefano noted how much WPSA has meant to her career. She then introduced Manuel Avalos, the incoming WPSA President. She handed the gavel over to Manny Avalos. Manny Avalos welcomed all to attend the reception following the meeting. He also noted that there was a group of members who would be talking about the direction of the PRQ after the meeting.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Submitted by Noelle Norton, Recording Secretary	