## **MINUTES**

## WPSA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Thursday, September 1, 2011 Hotel: Grand Hyatt Seattle Room: Menzies Suite 6:15 – 7:15 p.m.

<u>Members Present:</u> Manuel Avalos, Peregrine Schwartz-Shea, Michael W. Bowers, Noelle Norton, Kim Geron, Pei-te Lien, Julie Novkov, Louis DeSipio

Ex-Officio Members Present: Richard Clucas, Elsa Favila, Cornell Clayton, and Amy Mazur.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Christine DiStefano, James Gosling, Arturo Vega, Sean Kelly, Ted Lascher, Lisa Magaña, Melody Rose, Karthick Ramakrishnan, Rudy Espino, and Chris Parker.

<u>Guests Present:</u> Gary Segura, Shaun Bowler, Leah Fargotstein, James McCann, Chris Shortell, and Jeanne Morefield.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 6:15 p.m. by Manuel Avalos.

After the calling of the roll, Richard Clucas said that he did not think there were enough council members present to constitute a roll. He recommended that the council hold the meeting as planned and that he would then check more closely into the Association Bylaws to determine whether a quorum was indeed present.

Article VII, Section 5(a) of the WPSA Bylaws establishes the following rules for a quorum at an Executive Council Meeting: "A majority of the authorized number of Councilors shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business, except to adjourn as provided in section 7 of this article VIII."

The WPSA Executive Council consists of twenty members. There were ten councilors present at this meeting (Associate Director Elsa Favila is not counted toward meeting the quorum; the two editors of *Political Research Quarterly* constitute only one seat). As a consequence, the actions that took place at the meeting were not legal, and thus they are not recorded in these minutes.

Submitted by Noelle Norton, Recording Secretary