MINUTES

WPSA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Action without a Meeting Wednesday, June 18, 2012

<u>Members Present:</u> Manuel Avalos, Peregrine Schwartz-Shea, Gary Segura, Victoria Farrar-Myers, Michael W. Bowers, Noelle Norton, Louis DeSipio, Sean Kelly, Ted Lascher, Lisa Magaña, Melody Rose, Karthick Ramakrishnan, Rudy Espino, Chris Parker, Mark Bevir, Mary Caputi, Jeanne Morefield, and Gabriel Sanchez.

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present:</u> Richard Clucas, Cornell Clayton, Amy Mazur, James Gosling, and Rosalee Clayson.

Members Absent: None

WPSA President Peregrine Schwartz-Shea submitted a list of members for the *Political Research Quarterly* Editor Selection Committee to the Executive Council for its approval through electronic mail on June 11, 2012. The minutes you are voting on today provide the formal documentation of that vote.

BACKGROUND

The terms of the current *PRQ* editors expire on June 30, 2014. At its March 22, 2012, meeting, the Executive Council voted to approve the framework for the selection of new editors. One of the first steps in this framework is the creation of the *PRQ* Editor Selection Committee. The WPSA Bylaws require the association President to put together a slate of candidates to serve on this committee, which must then be approved by the Executive Council.

At the March 22 meeting, the Council instructed the President to put forward the slate for approval in late spring or early summer in order to expedite the creation of the committee. Since there is not a regular meeting scheduled until August, the Council asked for the slate to be approved under the rules for taking action without holding a meeting.

President Schwartz-Shea proposed the following slate of individuals to serve on the Selection Committee:

William Haltom, University of Puget Sound —CHAIR
Mary Hawkesworth, Rutgers University
Rodney Hero, University of California, Berkeley
Timothy W. Luke, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Melissa R. Michelson, Menlo College
Richard Clucas, WPSA Executive Director—Ex Officio, Non-voting member

Under the association's MOU with the University of Utah, his/her designee) is to be included as an ex-officio, non-vo committee. Mark Button was appointed by the University Council vote did not affect his participation.	ting member of the selection
OUTCOME	
All members of the Executive Council returned their ballots, with the final ballot arriving on June 18, 2012. The Council voted unanimously for the proposed slate.	
Carrie Currier, WPSA Recording Secretary	Date