MINUTES

WPSA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Action without a Meeting February 5 – March 6, 2019

Members Present: Andrew Aoki, Janni Aragon, Michael Bowers, Mark Brown, Mark Button, Tony Carey, Lan Chu, Richard Clucas, Carrie Currier, Mario Feit, Lorrie Frasure-Yokley, Farah Godrej, Steven James Johnston, Jane Junn, Jessica LaVariega Monforti, Maruice Mangum, Jamie Mayerfeld, Seth McKee, Stephen Nicholson, Valerie O'Regan, Nadia Brown/Valeria Chapman, Ricardo Ramirez

Members Absent: None

WPSA President Jane Junn submitted a proposal to the Executive Council through electronic mail on February 5, 2019 following the WPSA Bylaws for taking Action without a Meeting. These are these official minutes of those actions.

BACKGROUND

Several years ago, the WPSA Executive Council voted to limit the award committees to recognizing only one best paper or article each year. The policy was established to reduce the workload placed on the editors of *Political Research Quarterly*. In the association policies, it states that the *PRQ* editors are required to give all award-winning conference papers an "enhanced opportunity to seek publication of the paper in *PRQ*" and that "the editors will make every effort to work with authors to bring manuscripts to the level required by the normal peer review process."

Working so closely with a small group of authors can be very time-consuming, so the policy for allowing only one-winning paper was adopted. Even though the proposal was meant to limit the number of conference paper winners, the wording applied to all awards, including the *PRQ* Best Article Award.

In January 2019, Hahrie Han, the *PRQ* Award Committee chair, told the WPSA President and Executive Director that the committee felt strongly that there were two articles deserving of the Best Article Award this year and that the committee members did not feel it would be fair to choose arbitrarily between them.

In response to the Han's appeal, the WPSA President Jane Junn decided to put a proposal before the Executive Council allowing the *PRQ* Award Committee to select up to two cowinners. The proposal was limited strictly to the *PRQ* Best Article Award; it did not affect other awards.

PROPOSAL

Proposed February 2019 revisions to WPSA Policy Article I Annual Awards. Proposal revises Section I.B.6. The other sections of Article I remain unchanged. Strikeovers indicate deletions, italics indicate additions.

6) The award committees that determine the awards for the best papers presented at the annual meeting of the WPSA may recognize only one winning paper make only one award each year. The PRQ award committee should also strive to recognize only one winning article each year. However, the PRQ award committee may recognize up to two co-winners if it decides that two articles are of equal significance. All award committees may issue However, this does not preclude statements of honorable mention. service.

OUTCOME

All members of the Executive	Council returned	their ballots,	with the fi	inal ballot	arriving on
March 6, 2019. The proposal	was passed unanir	mously.			

Submitted by Jason Casellas, Recording Secretary