2017 Conference

2017 Papers

Join/Renew

2016 Awards

Search Site

DONATE

Spacer Image

PUBLICATIONS

PRQ



The Western
Spacer

PROGRAM COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS IN
THE PROFESSION

COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF BLACKS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF LATINOS/AS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION
BEST PAPER ON ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE
DISSERTATION AWARD COMMITTEE
PI SIGMA ALPHA AWARD COMMITTEE
BETTY NESVOLD WOMEN AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTE
BEST PAPER ON CHICANAS/CHICANOS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE

BEST PAPER ON BLACKS AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTEE
CHARLES REDD POLITICS OF THE AMERICAN WEST AWARD COMMITTEE
ENVIRONMENTAL POLITICAL THEORY AWARD

Committee on Nominations
Chair:

Michaele Ferguson (2015-17)
University of Colorado, Boulder
michaele.ferguson@
colorado.edu

Members
David Leal (2015-17)
University of Texas at Austin
dleal@austin.utexas.edu
Taeku Lee, (2016-18)
University of California, Berkeley
taekulee@berkeley.edu

Tehama Lopez Bunyasi (2016-18)
George Mason University
tlopezbu@gmu.edu

 

Committee on the Status of Asian Pacific Americans
Chair:

Loan Le (2014-2017)
President and CEO
Institute for Good Government and Inclusion (IGGI)
lkle@thinkiggi.com

Members

James Lai (2014-2017)
Santa Clara University
Jlai@scu.edu

Neilan Chaturvedi (2015-18)
Seattle University
chaturvn@seattleu.edu

 

 

Sangay Mishra (2015-18)
Drew University
smishra@drew.edu
Jeanette Yih Harvie
jeanette.harvie@gmail.com
Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession
Chairs:

Chris Lee (2016-19)
Niagara University
clee@niagara.edu

and

Maruice Mangum (2015-18)
Texas Southern University
maruicemangum@yahoo.com

Members:

Ange Marie-Hancock (2014-2017)
University of Southern California
ahancock@usc.edu


Chris Towler (2016-19)
Western Washington University
chris.towler@wwu.edu

Committee on the Status of Latinos/as in the Profession
Chair: 

Rene Rocha (2014-2017)
University of Iowa
rene-rocha@uiowa.edu

Members:

Marcela Garcia-Castañon (2015-2018)
San Francisco State University
mgcs@sfsu.edu

Chris Zepeda-Milan (2015-18)
University of California, Berkeley
czm@berkeley.edu

Ivy Cargile (2016-2019)
Saint Norbert College
ivy.cargile@snc.edu

Maria Chavez-Pringle
(2016-2019)
Pacific Lutheran University
chavezml@plu.edu

 

Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession
Chairs:

Meredith Conroy (2014-2017)
California State University, San Bernardino
mere.conroy@gmail.com

and

Susan Sterett (2016-19)
Virginia Tech
ssterett@vt.edu


Members:

Shirin Deylami (2014-2017)
Western Washington University
shirin.deylami@wwu.edu

Judith Grant (2015-18)
Ohio University
grantj1@ohio.edu

 

Jennifer Diascro (2016-19)
University of California, Washington Center
jennifer.diascro@ucdc.edu


Don T. Nakanishi Best Paper Award on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems that concern
Asian Pacific Americans. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chair: Loan Le, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion (IGGI) lkle@thinkiggi.com
James Lai, Santa Clara University, Jlai@scu.edu
Neilan Chaturvedi, Seattle University, chaturvn@seattleu.edu
Sangay Mishra, Drew University, smishra@drew.edu
Jeanette Yih Harvie, jeanette.harvie@gmail.com

Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award:

For the best paper on women and politics presented at the Annual WPSA ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chairs: Susan Sterett, Virginia Tech, ssterett@vt.edu and Meredith Conroy, California State University, San Bernardino, mere.conroy@gmail.com
Judith Grant, Ohio University, grantj1@ohio.edu
Shirin Deylami, Western Washington University, shirin.deylami@wwu.edu
Jennifer Diascro, University of California, Washington Center
jennifer.diascro@ucdc.edu

Best Paper Blacks and Politics Award:

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems
which concern most Black Americans. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chairs: Chris Lee, Niagara University, clee@niagara.edu and
Maruice Mangum, Texas Southern University, maruicemangum@yahoo.com
Ange Marie-Hancock, University of Southern California
ahancock@usc.edu
Chris Towler, Western Washington University, chris.towler@wwu.edu

Charles Redd Center Award:

An award offered jointly by the WPSA and the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies of Brigham Young University for the best paper on the politics of the American West presented at the Convention of the WPSA. Papers may cover a broad range of topics--governance, policy, culture, politics--and may compare the West to other regions. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chair: Juliet Carlisle, University of Idaho, carlisle@uidaho.edu
Peter Brewitt, Wofford College, brewittpk@wofford.edu
Alexander Wathen, University of Houston Downtown, wathena@uhd.edu

Dissertation Award:

For the best doctoral dissertation completed at a university within the regional groupings of the WPSA between July 1 and June 30 of the previous academic year. ($250 award)
Deadline: October 15, 2016
Chair: Renee Cramer, Drake University, renee.cramer@drake.edu
Aaron Ley, University of Rhode Island, ajley@uri.edu
Andrew Aoki, Augsberg College, aoki@augsburg.edu

Environmental Political Theory Award

For the best paper in environmental political theory presented at the annual WPSA meeting. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chair: Justin Williams, University of Michigan, justwill@umich.edu‎
Margaret E. Farrar, John Carroll University, mfarrar@jcu.edu
Matt Lepori, National University of Singapore, mlepori@nus.edu.sg

Best Paper Latino/Latina Award:

For an outstanding paper on Latina/Latino politics and its relative aspects ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chair: Rene Rocha, University of Iowa, rene-rocha@uiowa.edu
Marcela Garcia-Castañon, San Francisco State University
mgcs@sfsu.edu
Chris Zepeda-Milan, University of California, Berkeley, czm@berkeley.edu
Ivy Cargile, Saint Norbert College, ivy.cargile@snc.edu
Maria Chavez-Pringle, Pacific Lutheran University, chavezml@plu.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha Award:

For the best paper presented at the WPSA annual meeting. ($500 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2016
Chairs: Priscilla Yamin, University of Oregon, pyamin@uoregon.edu
Drew Lanier, University of Central Florida, Drew.Lanier@ucf.edu
Manoj Mate, Whittier College, mmate@law.whittier.edu

PRQ Award

The Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PRQ during the prior calendar year. ($1000 award)

Chair: Douglas Dow, University of Texas, Dallas, dougdow@utdallas.edu
Kelly Kadera, kelly-kadera@uiowa.edu
Lester Spence, Johns Hopkins University, unbowed@gmail.com

For information on this website, contact favilaej@csus.edu.

spacer
HIGHLIGHTS

Call for Editors of PRQ

The Western, Spring 2017

2017 Program

2017 Meeting

Posting Papers

Future Meetings

Our Supporters

Donate