2018 Conference

2017 Papers

Join/Renew

2016 Awards

Search Site

DONATE

Spacer Image

PUBLICATIONS

PRQ



The Western
Spacer

PROGRAM COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS IN
THE PROFESSION

COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF BLACKS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF LATINOS/AS IN THE PROFESSION
COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION
BEST PAPER ON ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICANS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE
DISSERTATION AWARD COMMITTEE
PI SIGMA ALPHA AWARD COMMITTEE
BETTY NESVOLD WOMEN AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTE
BEST PAPER ON CHICANAS/CHICANOS AND POLITICS AWARD
COMMITTEE

BEST PAPER ON BLACKS AND POLITICS AWARD COMMITTEE
CHARLES REDD POLITICS OF THE AMERICAN WEST AWARD COMMITTEE
ENVIRONMENTAL POLITICAL THEORY AWARD

Committee on Nominations
Chair:

Tehama Lopez Bunyasi (2016-18)
George Mason University
tlopezbu@gmu.edu

Members
Taeku Lee, (2016-18)
University of California, Berkeley
taekulee@berkeley.edu
Melissa Michelson, (2017-19)
Menlo College
melissa.michelson@gmail.com

Kimberly Nalder, (2017-19)
EC Liaison
California State University, Sacramento
klnalder@csus.edu

 

Committee on the Status of Asian Pacific Americans
Chair:

Jeanette Yih Harvie (2016-2019)
jeanette.harvie@gmail.com

Members

Neilan Chaturvedi (2015-18)
Seattle University
chaturvn@seattleu.edu

Sangay Mishra (2015-18)
Drew University
smishra@drew.edu

Cecilia Mo (2017-20)
Vanderbilt University
cecilia.h.mo@vanderbilt.edu
Chris Haynes (2017-20)
University of New Haven
chaynes@newhaven.edu
Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession
Chairs:

Maruice Mangum (2015-18)
Texas Southern University
maruicemangum@yahoo.com

Members:
Chris Towler (2016-19)
Western Washington University
chris.towler@wwu.edu

Kim Williams (2017-2020)
Portland State University
kmw3@pdx.edu
Chris Lee (2016-19)
Niagara University
clee@niagara.edu
Committee on the Status of Latinos/as in the Profession
Chair: 

Marcela Garcia-Castañon (2015-2018)
San Francisco State University
mgcs@sfsu.edu

Members:

Chris Zepeda-Milan (2015-18)
University of California, Berkeley
czm@berkeley.edu

Ivy Cargile (2016-2019)
California State University, Bakersfield
icargile@csub.edu

Maria Chavez-Pringle
(2016-2019)
Pacific Lutheran University
chavezml@plu.edu

Bernard Fraga (2017-2020)
Indiana University
bfraga@indiana.edu

Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession
Chairs:

Susan Sterett (2016-19)
Virginia Tech
ssterett@vt.edu

Members:

Judith Grant (2015-18)
Ohio University
grantj1@ohio.edu

Jennifer Diascro (2016-19)
University of California, Washington Center
jennifer.diascro@ucdc.edu

Melody Valdini (2017-20)
Portland State University
mev@pdx.edu

Taneisha Means (2017-20)
Vassar College
tmeans@vassar.edu


Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award:

For the best paper on women and politics presented at the Annual WPSA ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chairs: Susan Sterett, Virginia Tech, ssterett@vt.edu
Judith Grant, Ohio University, grantj1@ohio.edu
Jennifer Diascro, University of California, Washington Center, jennifer.diascro@ucdc.edu
Taneisha Means, Vassar College, tmeans@vassar.edu
Melody Valdini, Portland State University, mev@pdx.edu

Best Paper Blacks and Politics Award:

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems
which concern most Black Americans. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chairs: Maruice Mangum, Texas Southern University, maruicemangum@yahoo.com
Chris Lee, Niagara University, clee@niagara.edu
Kim Williams, Portland State University, kmw3@pdx.edu
Chris Towler, Western Washington University, chris.towler@wwu.edu

Charles Redd Center Award:

An award offered jointly by the WPSA and the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies of Brigham Young University for the best paper on the politics of the American West presented at the Convention of the WPSA. Papers may cover a broad range of topics--governance, policy, culture, politics--and may compare the West to other regions. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chair: Thad Kousser, University of California, San Diego, tkousser@ucsd.edu
Sophia Jordan Wallace, University of Washington, sophiajw@uw.edu
Renee Van Vechten, University of Redlands, renee_vanvechten@redlands.edu

Dissertation Award:

For the best doctoral dissertation completed at a university within the regional groupings of the WPSA between July 1 and June 30 of the previous academic year. ($250 award)
Deadline: October 15, 2017
Chair: Mark Ramirez, Arizona State University, Mark.Ramirez@asu.edu
Chris DenHartog, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, cdenhart@calpoly.edu
Lisa Bryant, Fresno State University, lbryant@csufresno.edu

Don T. Nakanishi Best Paper Award on Asian Pacific Americans and Politics

For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems that concern
Asian Pacific Americans. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chair: Jeanett Yih Harvie, University of California, Santa Barbara, jeanette.harvie@gmail.com
Neilan Chaturvedi, California Polytechnic University, chaturvn@seattleu.edu
Chris Haynes, University of New Haven, chaynes@newhaven.edu
Sangay Mishra, Drew University, smishra@drew.edu
Cecilia Mo, Vanderbilt University, cecilia.h.mo@vanderbilt.edu

Environmental Political Theory Award

For the best paper in environmental political theory presented at the annual WPSA meeting. ($250 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chair: Margaret Farrar, John Carroll University, mfarrar@jcu.edu
Matt Lepori, National University of Singapore, mlepori@nus.edu.sg
Justin Williams, University of Michigan, justwill@umich.edu

Best Paper Latino/Latina Award:

For an outstanding paper on Latina/Latino politics and its relative aspects ($250)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chair: Marcela Garcia-Castañon, San Francisco State University, mgcs@sfsu.edu
Chris Zepeda-Milan, University of California, Berkeley, czm@berkeley.edu
Ivy Cargile, Saint Norbert College, ivy.cargile@snc.edu
Maria Chavez-Pringle, Pacific Lutheran University, chavezml@plu.edu
Bernard Fraga, Indiana University, bfraga@indiana.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha Award:

For the best paper presented at the WPSA annual meeting. ($500 award)
Deadline: June 15, 2017
Chairs: Matt Barreto, University of California, Los Angeles, barretom@ucla.edu
Sarah Fulton, Texas A&M University, safulton@tamu.edu
Haifeng Huang, University of California, Merced, hhuang24@ucmerced.edu

PRQ Award

The Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PRQ during the prior calendar year. ($1000 award)

Chair: Brad Jones, University of California, Davis, bsjjones@ucdavis.edu
Laron Williams, University of Missouri, williamslaro@missouri.edu
Ainsley LeSure, Occidental College

For information on this website, contact favilaej@csus.edu.

spacer
HIGHLIGHTS

Request to Participate Form

The Western, Spring 2017

2017 Program

2017 Meeting

Posting Papers

Future Meetings

Our Supporters

Donate