# WPSA AWARDS TO BE ANNOUNCED AT THE 2021 ANNUAL MEETING

The following awards were presented at our 2021 WPSA Annual Meeting:

## Celebrating our 74th Anniversary!

The Betty Moulds Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2015-16 to honor the remarkable contributions of the longtime Executive Director of WPSA, Betty Moulds. This year the members of the Betty Moulds Lifetime Achievement Award Selection Committee are delighted to announce that this year's awardee is

#### **Shaun Bowler**

WPSA President, 2009-2010 Dean of Graduate Affairs University of California, Riverside

The Betty Moulds Lifetime Service Award is given to individuals who have made a long history of service and an extraordinary contribution to the WPSA. In making its decision, the Awards Committee recognized Shaun's extensive work on behalf of the Association, not only as program chair and president, but also in securing the publication portfolio and finances of the association. Shaun played a central role in the creation of *Politics, Groups, and Identities*. He launched *The Western,* the WPSA Newsletter, and served as its first editor. He provided leadership in getting the association to begin accepting donations and creating endowments. He has served on several WPSA committees, including chairing the 2016 Future Planning Committee. In addition to his leadership in the WPSA, Bowler's work in helping to launch PRIEC, his co-editorship of the *British Journal of Political Science*, and his decades of mentorship and publication are distinguishing marks of his long career. The Committee congratulates Professor Bowler and thanks him for his service.

#### CLAY MORGAN AWARD FOR BEST BOOK IN ENVIRONMENTAL POLITICAL THEORY

To: Cara New Daggett, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

**Book title:** The Birth of Energy: Fossil Fuels, Thermodynamics, and the Politics of Work (Duke University Press. 2019)

Honorable Mention To: Rafi Youatt, The New School for Social Research

Book title: Interspecies Politics: Nature, Borders, States (University of Michigan Press, 2020)

#### **DISSERTATION AWARD (\$250)**

**To:** Justine Davis, UC Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow at University of California, San Diego **For dissertation completed at the University of California, Berkley**: Wartime Experiences of Civic Leaders: Legacies of Civil War, Rebel Control, and Democratization in Post-Conflict Africa

# DON T. NAKANISHI AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED SCHOLARSHIP AND SERVICE IN ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICAN POLITICS (\$250)

To: Janelle Wong, Professor of American Studies, University of Maryland, College Park

### POLITICAL RESEARCH QUARTERLY BEST ARTICLE AWARD (\$1000)

**To:** Christian R. Grose, University of Southern California, and Jordan Carr Peterson, Texas Christian University

**For their September 2020 article**: "TRENDS: Economic Interests Cause Elected Officials to Liberalize Their Racial Attitudes"

### POLITICS, GROUPS, AND IDENTITIES BEST ARTICLE AWARD (\$500)

**To:** Claire L. Adida, University of California, San Diego; Kim Yi Dionne, University of California, Riverside; and Melina R. Platas, New York University Abu Dhabi

**For their 2020 article in Issue 3:** "Ebola, Elections, and Immigration: How Politicizing an Epidemic Can Shape Public Attitudes"