2018 Conference

2018 Papers


Search Site


Spacer Image



The Western


Committee Chairs, Section Chairs, and other participants are encouraged to nominate papers for award consideration. The following guidelines are to be noted by persons submitting work:

1. With the exception of the PRQ Award, no previously published material is to be submitted.

2. Review processes for each award are conducted by award committees consisting of at least three political scientists. The review process is anonymous.

3. WPSA awards carry monetary prizes determined by the Executive Council, or, in the case of the PRQ award, determined by the PRQ Editors.

4. As part of the long-standing commitment of the Association to have the Political Research Quarterly reflect the intellectual strengths of the organization, WPSA paper award winners are provided with an enhanced opportunity to seek publication of the paper in PRQ. Papers receiving WPSA awards will be offered the opportunity of an expedited review. If, after the first review, an award winning paper does not meet the normal publication standards as determined by the editor(s), at least one opportunity to revise and resubmit will be provided to the author(s). There is no guarantee that papers will be published, but the editors will make every effort to work with authors to bring manuscripts to the level required by the normal peer review process. Papers must be submitted through the web-based submission system within six months of receipt of the award.

5. Winners of the Awards are announced at the Annual Meeting of the WPSA.

Where to Submit

Please send award submission to the individuals listed below by the deadline noted. No previously published material may be submitted.

Don T. Nakanishi Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Service in Asian Pacific American Politics:
Loan Le, Institute for Good Government and Inclusion (IGGI) lkle@thinkiggi.com

June 15, 2016

Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award:
Susan Sterett, Virginia Tech, ssterett@vt.edu and Meredith Conroy, California State University, San Bernardino, mere.conroy@gmail.com
June 15, 2016

Blacks and Politics Award:
Chair: Chris Lee, Niagara University, clee@niagara.edu and
Maruice Mangum, Texas Southern University, maruicemangum@yahoo.com
Deadline: June 15, 2016

Charles Redd Center Award:
Juliet Carlisle, University of Idaho, carlisle@uidaho.edu
June 15, 2016

Dissertation Award:
Chair: Renee Cramer, Drake University, renee.cramer@drake.edu
Deadline: October 15, 2016

Environmental Political Theory Award:
Chair: Justin Williams, University of Michigan, justwill@umich.edu‎
Deadline: June 15, 2016

Latino/Latina Award:
Chair: Rene Rocha, University of Iowa, rene-rocha@uiowa.edu
Deadline: June 15, 2016

Pi Sigma Alpha Award:
Chairs: Priscilla Yamin, University of Oregon, pyamin@uoregon.edu
Deadline: June 15, 2016


2018 Registration Form

Posting Papers

2018 Program

Reserve your Hotel Room

The Western, Spring 2017

2017 Program

2017 Meeting

Future Meetings

Our Supporters